Color Blind

I absolutely love my children.  And I love the fact that they are growing up unaware of the idea of racial prejudice.

Last week, my daughter,7, and her friend (long, blond haired American) were sitting next to two friends of mine (one Korean and one American).  The girls were laughing and joking that strangers might think they were sisters and the daughter of the American woman.

I interrupted and suggested that someone may think they are the daughters of the my Korean friend.  The girls looked at each other and laughed and said, “Only Alia could be her daughter because she has short hair, but no-one would think Hannah was her’s because Hannah has long hair.”

This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Color Blind

  1. thomasbarnes says:

    I can’t believe that I’m just getting around to commenting on this…I read it the night you sent the link and it has stuck w/ me ever since. This really blessed me! This is a heart cry from my ‘momma heart’ for my children, to truly see only one race, the human race. It’s a beautiful thing. Thank you for sharing this.

    As an aside, it is so great to be ‘catching up’ w/ you Etter’s. It seems as though God has been very good to you all. Hope to see you when you’re state side.

    Hugs,
    Amy

    Like

Leave a Reply

