Questions

It has been a hard week.  The girls have lots of questions about the children we were expecting to join our family. Some friends have wondered if this is the end of our adoption journey.  Others want to know what happens next.  And still others are unsure about saying anything.  “What will happen to those children?” is the most asked question.

As for those children, they could possibly still be adopted.  There are families that choose to adopt HIV positive kids.  It is a hard road and not for the faint of heart.  I am not sure how the country deals with HIV kids.  Ethiopia shows great concern and love for their children, but they don’t have the funds, man-power, nor the facilities to do much.

I wish I had answers to half of the questions that I am asked.  But the truth is, I don’t.  Adoption is a road of faith.  I can’t see the obstacles that may rise up before me, but I know there are many.  Do I give up or press on?  Do I trust that the One who placed me on this road has the strength to get me through to the end?

I am no where near the end.  My journey in adoption, long though it may be, is just beginning.  It will not  be over simply because we’ve added two more beautiful faces to our home.  It is a lifelong journey that will include the ups and downs of children who loss their first family and are learning to love a new one.  In the same way that my journey as a parent will not end until my life in this world is over.  It will change, but it won’t end.

In the meantime, we will wait.  Again.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

