Our Plans

I am so thankful to those parents who have gone before us and taken so many wonderful pictures of K and J.  It has been 10 months since we first saw their faces.  We’ve watched through pictures as J got his first teeth and learned to walk.  We’ve seen K grow taller and watched as her hair grew long enough to to be twisted and braided.

Our most recent pictures of J show him walking through a forest of small children.  While we were oohing and ahhing over his accomplishments, Alia looked up at me with sad eyes and said, “Mommy, we are missing him growing up.”

I totally understand her heart.  I feel the same way.  We keep telling ourselves that we are near the end of this process.  Surely, we are!  Almost 6 years of diligently pursuing adoption, and we haven’t even met our kids physically yet.

Then I remember, my plans and timing aren’t always the same as God’s and I am confident that His way is far better than my own.  When we first started pursuing adoption neither K nor J were even born.   When we switched from Russia to Ethiopia, J had still not made his entrance in this world.

I feel overwhelmed by God’s mercy when I stop to realize how His plan is unfolding perfectly in our lives.  The words were penned so beautifully by someone thousands of years ago and yet they express my heart.  Ps. 139:3, 6 “You search out my path and my lying down and are acquainted with all my ways. Such knowledge is too wonderful for me; it is high; I cannot attain it.”

Thank you Lord for doing what is best for our family even if it isn’t what we would have chosen for ourselves. You, O Lord, know us, You love us, and You desire to bless us.  You know which trials we need to walk through so that we can become the people we need to be.  Thank You, Father, for showing us that You are always beside us.

This entry was posted in Adoption, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

