Homeschool Science

This week I dissected flowers along with Torie, Charis, and Alia.  We opened it up, identified the various parts, and discussed how each part of the flower worked.  We had a big discussion about the male/female parts of the flower and how they work together to make seeds.  As we were cleaning up, I looked over my shoulder and saw Alia, 9, rubbing her fingers over the flowers still intact and sitting in the vase.

“What are you doing,” I asked.

“Making babies.”  Her response was simple and innocent.  And I cracked up laughing.

“What?” she asked.  “I’m sprinkling the pollen from these flowers over the carpel of others so they can make seeds and baby flowers can grow.”

What can I say?  She learned her science lesson for the day.

(3)

This entry was posted in Family, Homeschooling. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

