Figs

This is probably not a big deal to anyone but me. A few weeks ago, I bought a fig tree.

wpid-dsc_9481-wm-2011-08-5-10-05.jpg

I grew up eating figs and I love them. When my parents visited us several years ago, we found figs in the market. I had never seen them before and I haven’t seen them since. When you live overseas, you just expect to miss out on some of the familiar sights, sounds, smells, and tastes of home.

Last year for Christmas, my Grandmother gave me some of her wonderful, homemade fig preserves. It was an awesome gift. As soon as I opened the jar, everyone devoured it. I guess I have passed my love of figs on to my girls.

Figs were just starting to form on the giant tree that stands next to my Grandma’s house when we left for China. I was really bummed that we would miss tasting those figs right off the tree.

Then…

a few weeks ago we went to the flower market. I couldn’t believe my eyes. Right there in a pot was a fig tree. There was no way we could pass up this opportunity. Obviously, we bought one and I wasn’t the only one jumping for joy.

wpid-dsc_9496-wm-2011-08-5-10-05.jpg

wpid-dsc_9495-wm-2011-08-5-10-05.jpg

Sometimes it’s the little, unexpected joys in life that are the greatest reminder of just how much my Father loves me and cares for me. I wasn’t looking for anything special, but I found a great treasure. A taste of home, thousands of miles away. And the Father’s tangible love for me gives me a taste of my future home with Him.

~Regina

This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

