Crazy Kind of Day

Frozen pipes, no hot water…again. Today’s a Korean test. After that a trip outside of town to prep for an upcoming retreat. Tomorrow, teach Thanksgiving dinner recipes to our kitchen workers. Wednesday, more cooking at the restaurant and at home. Thursday, work all day at the restaurant for a Thanksgiving Celebration. Sunday, a gathering at our place. Next week, a trip by train out of town to purchase supplies and equipment for the new Gina’s. Oh, yeah, this Friday and Saturday our family’s stay-at-home vacation. A 13th birthday in two weeks, and a retreat at the same time.
These are just a few of the thoughts that were racing through my mind this morning as I jumped into a taxi and rattled off where I wanted to go.

To say I was preoccupied would be an understatement. My mind wasn’t just preoccupied, it was over-occupied. Too many things fighting for my attention. I had to focus on the next task and that just happened to be Korean class complete with a test and I knew I wasn’t well prepared.

About halfway to school, I pulled my backpack into my lap and unzipped the pocket. As I glanced inside, a terrible realization hit me. I had left home with no money. None! Zip! And here I was in a taxi, halfway to my destination. I looked back at the girls. They had left their wallets at home as well. This was embarrassing (especially since I’m always lecturing the girls to carry money with them, just in case). I called my friend who works at the school and she agreed to meet me at the taxi to pay my fare. Thank goodness for good friends.

I muddled through my test still trying to figure out how I could have forgotten something so a part of my life. I always have money, what was I thinking? Break time couldn’t come fast enough. I needed coffee, surely that would help me get my thoughts sorted. I searched around the little kitchen until I found sugar and I poured in enough to jolt my mind back into place. I took a sip, ready for the calm and soothing effect I knew it would have on me. Instead, I found myself spewing the coffee out into the sink. That unlabeled jar of sugar wasn’t sugar. It was salt.

Go ahead, laugh. I did. I still am, hours later. Then a song popped into my head, “This is the Stuff” by Francesca Battistelli. How many times have I let the details of living overtake actual living? Maybe you can relate?

~Regina

Here are the lyrics and you can listen to the song on Youtube.

“This Is The Stuff”
I lost my keys in the great unknown
And call me please ’cause I can’t find my phone

This is the stuff that drives me crazy
This is the stuff that’s getting to me lately
In the middle of my little mess
I forget how big I’m blessed
This is the stuff that gets under my skin
But I’ve gotta trust You know exactly what You’re doing
Might not be what I would choose
But this the stuff You use

45 in a 35 sirens and fines
While I’m running behind
Whoa ho ho

This is the stuff that drives me crazy
This is the stuff that’s getting to me lately
In the middle of my little mess,
I forget how big I’m blessed
This is the stuff that gets under my skin
But I’ve gotta trust You know exactly what You’re doing
Might not be what I would choose
But this the stuff You use

So break me of impatience
Conquer my frustrations
I’ve got a new appreciation
It’s not the end of the world
Whoa ho ho ho

Oooooh This is the stuff that drives me crazy
This is the stuff
Someone save me
In the middle of my little mess
I forget how big I’m blessed
This is the stuff that gets under my skin
But I’ve gotta trust You know exactly what You’re doing
Might not be what I would choose
But this the stuff You use

Whoa whoa ho ho
This is the stuff You use.

This entry was posted in A Thoughtful Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

