A Young Servant’s Heart

I asked my 15 year old to share something she prepared for a class. And because she is awesome, she agreed. Here is a small example of a young girl’s heart and her desire to be a servant.

**I’m sure you’ve heard people say, “Jesus was a servant,” or something similar. But do you really know, do I really know what it means to be a servant? Other people in the Bible have been called God’s servants, such as Samuel, David, and Daniel. These men are called servants of God. In the New Testament those in the early church were also called servants, but they were called to serve each other.

Today, the modern, more civilized church seems to be more interested in how they can gain from this circumstance, not how they can serve each other. Being a servant doesn’t mean you are a slave. Just treat others the way you want to be treated. If you do this, if you try to serve each other, most of the Church’s problems would be solved.

One of my goals is to be God’s servant. But how do I do that? Someone once said, “Unless you’re willing to die to your own ambition, you can never be a servant of Christ.” I must release my dreams and take hold of Jesus. Let Him be my master; find my purpose in Him. Then when I meet Him, He can say, “Well done, my good and faithful servant.”

There’s no need to say, “I’m not talented enough. I’m not good enough.” Jesus says, “My grace is all you need. My power works best in weaknesses.” 2 Corinthians 12:9. I have no excuse. I give my life to Christ, not asking Him just to save me, but asking Him to mold me into the servant He wants me to be.

There are two reasons that keep me from doing this, fear and pride. I’m scared. Doing this means a change in my lifestyle, my thoughts, and my actions. We all get scared, but does fear control us, me? Secondly, I believe lies. The world says, “Look out for yourself because no one else will.” But, I am not of this world. This is my temporary home.

Putting others first means giving up. Giving up time, effort, and resources for the sake of someone else. If it is within my power to do good for someone else, I should do it.

Submit yourself to your Christian family and see the difference you can make.**

I love the way our Father works in the hearts of His children, both big and small. And the servant’s heart that I see in my children challenges me to serve others better. I hope you’ll join me as we look for ways to improve our serve and demonstrate Christ’s love to others.

~ Regina

This entry was posted in A Thoughtful Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

