Y is for Yearning

Y – Yearning —> Today is the day.  The day all of creation has yearned for is completed.  The promise is fulfilled.

Today amid family, gifts, and food I want to long for my Savior.  I want to celebrate His first coming as a baby.  His bursting on the scene, confirming His love and desire for us.

wpid-images-57-2014-12-25-06-53.jpeg

I also yearn for His return.  I desire His cleansing blood to flow over the blackness in this world and wipe it all away.  I long to see sin’s destructive power crushed, forever.  I’m anxious to kneel before my Lord and join thousands of thousands singing, “Holy, holy, holy is the Lord God Almighty.  Who was, Who is, and Who is to come.”

Yes, His coming as a baby brought hope, it brought healing.  Because of Him, we can have peace and victory in this sin infested world.  But, we are still living in a decaying world with the stench of darkness all around us.  One day, He will return for His children and He will put an end to evil. He will be the conquering King.

“O God, you are my God, earnestly I seek you; my soul thirsts for you, my body longs for you, in a dry and weary land where there is no water. I have seen you in the sanctuary and beheld your power and your glory. Because your love is better than life, my lips will glorify you. I will praise you as long as I live, and in your name I will lift up my hands. My soul will be satisfied as with the richest of foods; with singing lips my mouth will praise you. On my bed I remember you; I think of you through the watches of the night. Because you are my help, I sing in the shadow of your wings.  My soul clings to you; your right hand upholds me” (Psalm 63:1-8).

~ Regina

wpid-images-68-2014-12-25-06-53.jpeg

This entry was posted in A Thoughtful Life, Advent. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

